Public Works

DivisionsAmerican Public Works Association Accredited Agency logo

The Public Works Department consists of the following divisions:

Engineering Division
The Engineering Division is comprised of three Sections: Capital Improvement, Inspections, and Traffic Engineering.

Engineering Administration
Engineering Administration provides management, oversight and support to the Engineering and Environmental Management divisions.
Environmental Management
The Environmental Management Division is comprised of three Sections: Environmental Coordination, Stormwater Management, and Coastal Zone Management.

Field Operations
The Field Operations Division includes three core services: stormwater system maintenance and repair, street right-of-way maintenance and repair, and sanitary sewer collection system maintenance and repair.

Public Works Administration
The Public Works Administration Division provides management direction and administrative support to the Field Operations Division, the Cardiff Sanitary Division, the Encinitas Sanitary Division, and the San Dieguito Water District as well as direct supervision of Fleet Maintenance and Facility/Site Maintenance.

San Dieguito Water District
The San Dieguito Water District provides potable (drinking) and recycled water to over 38,000 citizens in the communities of Leucadia, Old Encinitas, Cardiff, and portions of New Encinitas.


Dennis Lamb,
Interim Public Works Director
P:(760) 633-2858
F:(760) 436-3592
P:(760) 633-2840
F:(760) 436-3592

160 Calle Magdalena Encinitas, CA 92024

Quick Links

Engineering Design Manual

Urban Forest Management Program